December, Day 15: Trust

 

In 2014 the word was Trust…

12359903_10153668673703260_6066591403495478965_n

 

Each year for the past several years I have prayed for and selected one word and one bible verse to focus on for that year. This practice has helped to create breakthroughs in my faith and has enriched my character.

In 2015 the word I chose wasn’t the word I needed at all, but that’s a conversation for another day.

Today, I want to focus on my word for 2014 and how, in His perfect way, He knew what I needed, long before I did.
Trust.

That was the word that was in my heart as we strode into 2014. I had always been a believer, but had I ever, fully, given myself over to God?

In a way that truly showed those around me that He was in charge of my life, or was Amy still trying to steer the ship?

I was about to find out.

I selected my verse of the year: Proverbs 3:5-6.

Just after my selected verse I copied this quote:

Trust is faith in action! It is the manifestation of our faith in our thoughts and actions. While faith says, “He can…”, trust says, “He is… and I will think and act accordingly!” – Unknown

By the time summer rolled around it felt like my mission to trust was enriching the soil of my soul, sending the roots of my faith deeper into more fruitful ground.

I’ve seen troubles in my life. I’ve been down in the pit. I’ve felt deep and lasting heartache…

But, still, I thought I was an expert on the way things were “supposed to go.”

Then came July. And Ryan’s accident.

That day my world exploded and the shattered pieces embedded themselves so deeply into my heart and lungs that I couldn’t breathe without a stabbing sharp pain.

And not only did I fall off that gentle path I’d been walking on, but I was left holding onto the side of the cliff by my fingernails. Below me, the enemy was waiting for one of the aftershocks of grief to knock me into the blackened pit with him where he could unravel my soul.

But that didn’t happen.

Guided by the light in my heart, God helped me back up the side of the cliff. His promise of hope kept me going, walking along the path made strong by the trust He’d been working on in me prior to that fateful day.

Because I trusted Him, I was not lost.

If I’ve gone on too long, and you’ve stopped reading, please read this:

In this life, we will all come face to face with the choice between letting go and falling into the pit, or trusting Him enough to climb past the heartache, around the pain, and through the overwhelming grief that this life sometimes hands us, back onto the path of faith.

As it says in 1 Peter 1:7 (NIRV)

“Your troubles have come in order to prove that your faith is real. Your faith is worth more than gold. That’s because gold can pass away even when fire has made it pure. Your faith is meant to bring praise, honor and glory to God. This will happen when Jesus Christ returns.”

May your holiday season be filled with faith in action.

12341332_10153668673928260_3386811360398450805_n

Leave a Reply

