Sharing Christmas With Those Who are Grieving

Kay Warren’s blog  about Christmas cards, and her grief were on my mind a lot last year as we faced our first Christmas without our son (my Stepson) Ryan. This year, it still resonates with me as I have friends who are dealing with the first Christmas after the loss of a loved one. So I am sharing it with you.

I seldom put a voice to these things, but I have thought long and hard about this, and I do have something I want to say. It is not meant to offend, and it is just my feelings on the subject.

Last year I braced myself for those envelopes to start arriving in the mail with the smiling family pictures.

And they didn’t come.

I think we got two cards. Of course I understood, people didn’t know what to say—so they didn’t. Being as human as I am, that hurt too. Sorry friends, I’m fully flawed.

I know this is a busy season, but if it is not too much to ask, could you take a moment to write a word or two of comfort on that card you are sending to anyone on your list who has lost a loved one this year?

As for us, it’s very hard now for us to take pictures, there will always be that one smile that is missing.

But this year, we’d love to get your wishes. To see the picture of your beautiful family, their smiles shining, and the letter updating us on your year. It offers us an opportunity to celebrate with you and that is no small thing.

And if you have a moment, and could mention Ry in your greeting, letting us know that you remember, well, that would also be no small thing, because we can’t forget.

Leave a Reply

