December, Day 3: Angels

Entertaining Angels

Don’t forget to show hospitality to strangers, for some who have done this have entertained angels without realizing it! –Hebrews 13:2 (NLV).

Angel: a spiritual being believed to act as an attendant, agent, or messenger of God…(Webster’s Online Dictionary).

Yesterday, as Michael and I were walking Scarlett in the park we were debating about how to display our Byers’ Choice Carolers this year. I came up with an idea, and said, “Oh, your Mom would love that.”

And then the tears came.

Michael’s mom Patricia meant the world to me. She was my first friend in Ohio, and was the most lovely and feisty woman I have ever met. She loved Christmas like no one I have ever seen, I think it was because it combined some of the things she cherished most in life; family, celebrations, and faith.

We lost her on December 19th, 2010 and my heart has been a little broken at Christmas since.

From our Christmas dishes to the wreath that hangs above our fireplace almost every beloved Christmas decoration, we display in our home came from her—including the carolers. As our Christmas decorations begin to take shape I can almost feel her smiling down on me.

After our walk we grabbed some groceries and were putting them into the car when an elderly woman called out to us from her car asking if we could bring our cart to her. So I did.

When I approached her, it was if I already knew her. She was a petite lady, wearing a red puffy vest, red sunglasses, and red lipstick. She was beautifully put together with a smile that lit her from within.

She told me she was there to return some Coke. Her son had bought it for her in cans and she hates cans. She was plucky, I smiled as I helped her load the cartons into the cart, then handed her cane to her. I asked if she wanted me to drive the cart in for her, but she said no. Then, out of the blue she told me I was so lovely. Then she asked about Scarlett, so I had Michael bring the car over.

As she was petting Scarlett she told us the story of how she and her husband raised Irish setters, laughing as she told the story of the time they had had 16 puppies.

I could tell she was a soul ignited; I felt such a connection to her that we hugged even though we had just met and she said, “I hope I will see you guys again,” then turned and made her way to the store.

When we got into the car Michael and I said at the same time “Didn’t she remind you of mom.” She did, she certainly did.

When we’ve had encounters like that in the past, Michael has said, “She was either our angel or we were hers.”

I believe she was ours.

Be on the look out for strangers this holiday season, you never know when you might run into an angel.

Leave a Reply

