December, Day 2: Peace

Glory to God in the highest, and on earth peace, good will toward men. Luke 2:14 (KJV)

Peace. What is it?

I know we all want peace amongst those we share this planet with.

Sometimes even at home with those we share an address with we cry out, “Lord, grant me peace…” (or at least I do : ) )

There is even a hand signal for it.

But today I want to dig deeper. Do you have peace in your mind? In your heart?

About your life, and where you are, or where you are not?

I confess, I thought I’d be further along in my writing career by this stage in my life, but I am not.

I never thought I would divorce. But I did. And I remarried.

I’ve made so many mistakes in my life. But through the grace of my maker, I’ve made peace with most all of those things. Still…

I’ve not been able to think of dear Ryan without tears springing to my eyes.

But this morning was different. We decided to go get our Christmas tree today at the Christmas tree farm.

Last year, I could barely think of having a tree, at all, let alone a big tree because we have always had a big tree and a decorating party. And Ryan was always there.

Today, Michael and I shared some memories about Ryan and I smiled. Laughed even. I know it won’t be like that every day.

But, this time of year, especially, I am reminded of not just Who, but what we are celebrating. “Jesus came so that everyone who believes in Him will have eternal life.” John 3:15 NLT

Because of that gift, Ryan is in Paradise.

And today, I experienced “the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding. ” Philippians 4:7

Peace to you and your family this Holiday season.

Leave a Reply

